A Heart Made to Love

Everywhere you go people are attracted to your positive attitude and beautiful smile. I want you to remember through the hard times this summer that you are going to be the difference for someone. You have a gift with people that can’t be described in words. You are a light in this dark world, so don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

These beautifully kind words were written to me by a very good friend of mine. This girl knows my heart like the back of her hand, and words can’t truly express how grateful I am for a friend like her.

You guys I’m struggling. I’m struggling to figure out what the future holds for me. I’m struggling to figure out what I want. I’m struggling to decide where to focus my energy. I have a year left of grad school, then it’s time to start Big Kid Life. Which really means I have about 5 months before I need to seriously start my job search. That’s terrifying. I don’t know what that’s going to look like. I don’t know where I’ll be, or what I’ll be doing. 

All I want to do is love on people. I want to live in such a way that everyone I encounter feels important, honored and loved.

don’t just pretend to love others. really love them. hate what is wrong. hold tightly to what is good. love each other with genuine affection and take delight in honoring each other.                              

Romans 12: 9-10

People ask me about my “dream job” and my most honest answer is any job that will let me love on people all day every day. I want to make a positive, sustainable difference in the lives of others. I want to leave this world better than I found it. That’s who I am. I love fiercely and I love well. I love because the Lord loves me. I believe He has blessed me with a loving heart and I just want to serve Him with it. 

I want to spend my time with people who are lost and broken. Everyone deserves to be honored and loved. I want to speak for the voiceless. I want to stand up for those who can’t stand up for themselves. I just want to love on people and give them the love they deserve but have been denied.

God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. use them well to serve one another. do you have the gift of speaking? then speak as though God himself were speaking through you. do you have the gift of helping others? do it with all the strength and energy that God supplies. then everything you do will bring glory to God through Jesus Christ…                                              

1 Peter 4:10-11

I’m struggling because I feel like I could be doing more. I know I’m in that place in my life where I’m working hard to set myself up for a successful Big Kid Life. I just wish I had a better idea of what that looked like. And what I want it to look like.

I guess all I can do is focus on taking life one day at a time. Focus my energy on serving the Lord in my daily thoughts and actions and trust the big picture to Him.The letter from my friend reminded me that I am already making a positive difference in the lives of those around me.I know the Lord put these desires in my heart for a reason, so I just need to trust His plan and His timing. 

for God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.          

Philippians 2:13

 

Leave a Reply

