A Desperate Prayer for my Future

This is a tough one, Lord.

I have no idea what I’m doing with my life. I’m not sure what to do next or where to put my focus. I know I need You before anything else. I trust that You will help me find my way, but I also know it’s about time I start to figure things out for myself. I pray that I may be silent enough to hear Your call and courageous enough to follow Your plan.

Lord I need some guidance on how to prioritize my future. I firmly believe You have called me to love on people, but I also know I can do that in just about any context. So where do I focus my energy? My career? My personal life?

And what about my upcoming job search? Being here in New York has shown me I have the ability to thrive anywhere, but it has also helped me realize what’s most important to me in life.

Lord, I need You. I have so many feels, and no idea what to do with most of them. How do I prioritize my life? I pray for the courage and confidence I’ll need to take that leap of faith when the time comes. I need guidance and comfort.

How do I continue to move forward with purpose and intentionality and trust?

Steady my heart, Lord. Strengthen my feet on Your path. Help me to let go of control and really trust my future to Your hands. Help me to live one day at a time and leave the big picture to You. Help me to remember that everyone walks a different path in life, and when I compare timelines and stories, I’m cheating myself out of my own unique experiences and joy. I believe You have a beautiful plan for me. Help me to live each day to the fullest, glorifying You in all that I do. Help me to shift my focus back to spreading Your light, and away from my own selfish concerns.

Help me to trust You.

Amen

Leave a Reply

