Faith like Mary

Mary responded “I am the Lord’s servant. May everything you have said about me come true.”

Wow. Talk about unwavering faith and trust.

Here’s Mary, just doing her thing and then this angel appears before her and casually says, “hey! You’re pretty special. The Lord is with you” (Luke 1:28), and then goes on to tell her that despite being a virgin, she’s going to have a kid.

Normal, right?

Woof.

As if that wasn’t enough, this angel goes on to tell her that not only will she have a baby, but he will be called the Son of the Most High and his Kingdom will have no end (Luke 1:31-32).

Talk about intimidating. I don’t know about you, but I’d be panicking at this point. I mean, really. You’ve just been told you are going to conceive a child, and not just your average baby. Nope. You are going to give birth to the Savior. Mary is pretty chill about it though. She responds by confirming her faith and is just like ya know what, I’m here to serve The Lord. If this is really His plan for me, I hope it comes true (Luke 1:38).

Super casual. No big deal.

I’m sorry, what?! I mean, sure, I pray for guidance on what to do in my life. I hope for signs that I am where I should be and that I’m doing what I should be doing, but I don’t think I would react so calmly if an angel showed up at my doorstep one day and just laid it all out there for me.

I guess that’s part of what faith is though, right? It’s about trusting that God has a plan for you and believing that His will will be done. If I truly live my life as a servant of the Lord, then I know it’ll all be ok. Mary doesn’t falter in Luke’s account of the announcement of the birth of Jesus. Sure, she was confused about the logistics of the Lord’s plan for her, but she didn’t question or deny it. She embraced it, and hoped that it would come true because it was God’s plan for her. How cool is that?! It was such a selfless and faith-filled reaction.

While I have never had an angel show up at my doorstep, I am blessed in that I have experienced my own “God moments” that give me the confirmation that I am where I should be. Sometimes it’s as seemingly insignificant as a text from the right person at the right time. Other times, it’s way bigger and in my face, like a sermon at church. I have really had to work on my response to these “signs”. I’m challenging myself to take a page out of Mary’s book. Rather than questioning the meaning or over-analyzing what I “should” do, I’m going to do my best to accept them with grace.

Luke depicts Mary as a pretty solid believer in his description. She takes God’s word for what it is without questioning His plans. She believes in the Lord and worships Him (Luke 1:46-47). So yeah, she’s great and all, but it’s important to recognize that God chose Mary to bear Jesus out of His grace; not because of anything Mary did. Gabriel tells her she found favor with God (Luke 1:30), which really shows that God acted for her and not because of her. Mary is the object of God’s love and grace and unearned goodness. I think Mary understood that; she realized that God acted for her (Luke 1:49). God really stepped into her life and pulled her into His service. Her unwavering faithfulness was an asset; not a payment.

I think Luke depicts Mary in this way so that we can identify with her unwavering faithfulness. It’s important to recognize that Luke doesn’t want us to worship Mary as a person; but rather to identify with her example. She was fully committed to the Lord and His plans for her. She was open to serving the Lord in whatever way He called her. That’s pretty cool.

I want to have faith like Mary.

Leave a Reply

